The Canadian Steel Conference

Terri Meyer Boake

Terri Meyer Boake, B.E.S., B.Arch., M.Arch., LEED AP, est professeure titulaire à l’École d’architecture de l’Université de Waterloo, au Canada. Elle enseigne la construction de bâtiments, les structures, la conception environnementale et la cinématographie depuis 1986.

Terri Meyer Boake, B.E.S., B.Arch., M.Arch., LEED AP, est professeure titulaire à l’École d’architecture de l’Université de Waterloo, au Canada. Elle enseigne la construction de bâtiments, les structures, la conception environnementale et la cinématographie depuis 1986. Elle travaille avec l’ICCA, l’ACSA et l’AISC à l’élaboration de ressources pédagogiques pour la formation en architecture spécialisée en acier de charpente apparent. Elle a aidé l’ICCA à produire l’ouvrage intitulé « Guide for Specifying AESS ». Elle a publié trois livres pour Birkhäuser : « Understanding Steel Design: An Architectural Design Manual (2012), « Diagrid Structures: Systems, Connections, Details » (2014) et « Architecturally Exposed Structural Steel: Specifications, Connections, Details » (2015). « Complex Steel Structures: Non Orthogonal Geometries in Building with Steel » sera publié en 2019. Elle siège au conseil d’administration du Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat, et du Conseil de l’éducation et de la recherche de l’ICCA. Elle est une photographe passionnée qui documente les processus de construction et les bâtiments achevés.

Cela fait 10 ans maintenant que l’ICCA a lancé la « nouvelle » série de documents sur l’acier de charpente apparent. Le présent exposé vise à faire une mise à jour concise et très visuelle des pratiques qui sont maintenant considérées comme des pratiques exemplaires en matière d’application de l’acier de charpente apparent à des projets. L’exposé donnera un bref aperçu du « système » et mettra l’accent sur l’exécution des assemblages, en particulier les approches en matière de joints et d’assemblages sur le terrain, qui combinent considérations esthétiques et questions de montage. Le dilemme central en matière d’acier de charpente apparent, celui qui est à l’origine de toute cette discussion, « meuler ou ne pas meuler (les soudures) », sera abordé. Des assemblages discrets et cachés novateurs peuvent constituer une solution de rechange efficace aux joints soudés sur place excessifs.

*Les séances seront présentées en anglais et en français. Des interprètes seront sur place pour chaque séance. La langue de la séance est indiquée dans la ligne du titre.

Leave a Reply

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Thank you to our Sponsors

2019 Sponsors
Steel Sponsor
Steel Sponsor
Steel Sponsor
Platinum Sponsor
Gold Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Steel Sponsor
Steel Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Steel Sponsor
Steel Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Steel Sponsor
Gold Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Platinum Sponsor

The Canadian Steel Conference

Terri Meyer Boake

Terri Meyer Boake B.E.S., B.Arch., M.Arch., LEED AP is a Full Professor at the School of Architecture at the University of Waterloo in Canada. She has been teaching building construction, structures, environmental design and film since 1986.

Terri Meyer Boake B.E.S., B.Arch., M.Arch., LEED AP is a Full Professor at the School of Architecture at the University of Waterloo in Canada. She has been teaching building construction, structures, environmental design and film since 1986. She works with CISC, ACSA and AISC developing teaching resources for Architectural education specializing in AESS. She assisted CISC in producing the “Guide for Specifying AESS”. She has published three books for Birkhäuser: "Understanding Steel Design: An Architectural Design Manual" (2012), “Diagrid Structures: Systems, Connections, Details” (2014) and “Architecturally Exposed Structural Steel: Specifications, Connections, Details” (2015). “Complex Steel Structures: Non Orthogonal Geometries in Building with Steel” will be published in 2019. She is a board member with the Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat and the CISC Education and Research Council. She is an avid photographer, documenting construction processes and completed buildings.

*Sessions will be delivered in English or French. Interpreters will be available for each session. The language of delivery is indicated in the session’s title line.

It has been 10 years since CISC launched the “new” suite of AESS documents. This presentation aims to bring a concise and highly visual update to what are now considered best practices to apply AESS to projects. The presentation will provide a brief overview of “the system” and place focus on connection detailing, in particular approaches to splices and field connections as they merge aesthetic considerations with issues of erection. The central AESS dilemma, the one that started this entire conversation – “to grind or not to grind (welds)” will be addressed. Innovative discreet and hidden connections can provide an effective alternate to excessive field welded splices.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Thank you to our Sponsors

2019 Sponsors
Steel Sponsor
Steel Sponsor
Steel Sponsor
Steel Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Steel Sponsor
Steel Sponsor
Steel Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor